Sunday, August 20, 2017

The Revenge of Seven

The Revenge of Seven is the fifth book in I am Number Four series. So far this has been my least favorite book of the series.

Marina is full of desire to take revenge on Five who betrayed the Guarde resulting in the death of one of them. Full of anger Marina forms a new legacy the ability to use moisture to make ice and she intends to use this deadly legacy to hunt down Five.

John is struggling to know what to do and forcing himself to the trust Adam, the Mog that was experiment on with a dead guardes body. Unsure on what to do John ignores the advice of the other guarde and agrees to bring Adam into the circle.

Still separated the Guarde all work at fulfilling different tasks. I still struggle with figuring out whose point of view is happening quickly, this has never happened to me with any other book series so it is bothering me a lot. Other then that I just found this book filler until the last couple of chapters and unlike the other books in the series this one just flat out stopped. No smooth ending it just was wham I am done. I am too invested in the series to stop with it so I will continue on with The Fate of Ten.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

The General's Notorious Widow

I cannot recall where I got The General's Notorious Widow but it was not what I imagined at all.

I loved the opening of the story, a middle aged woman enjoying a meal who is suddenly harassed by a writer wanting to share her story with the world. Not about to be written about Lixie tells the writer where to go every way possible including unladylike ways. I waited the whole story for things to go back that way but they never did. I also was not sure what the story was really about it seemed to have a really weak plot line overall. 

The writing at the start was hilarious and smoothly perfect. I did want it to go back to that and while I never struggled with the writing style I craved more flair.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

The Fall of Five

The Fall of Five is the fourth book in the I am Number Four series.

The trend of telling from multiple points of view continues with new points of view added in, sadly like the previous books I did struggle at times to figure out whose point of view it was at times. Having gathered together the Garde is only missing Number Five and soon they have a sign from Five. Determined to unite Four thinks of a plan to find Five and hopefully unite them as a team.

For some reason the story felt a bit underwhelming at times for me. I do wish that things were still just told from one point of view. Overall I just prefer a book series stay consistent with points of view and I am Number Four was told entirely from Four's point of view. Despite struggling at times to figure out whose point of view is happening I do have The Revenge of Seven downloaded on my Nook and I cannot wait to start it.

Sunday, August 6, 2017

Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War

I had hoped Tides of War would be told mainly from Jaina's point of view but only about a third of the story was.

Always a strong advocate for peace Jaina tries to maintain a balance between the Alliance and the Horde as she struggles to make both sides embrace peace. This has always been an easy task for Jaina since she is full of love and hope however that all changes when the Horde brings war to the steps of Theramore. Determined to keep all that she loves safe and lead her people to victory Jaina prepares for war.

My main disappointment was having so many different character's point of views occurring throughout the story. I wanted more from Jaina's point of view. The story did flow well and the writing was crisp and smooth.